Puppy Chow® Complete Puppy Food

Puppy Chow® Complete Puppy Food

Roll over image to zoom in

Puppies have unique needs. That's why inside every bag of Purina® Puppy Chow® Complete puppy food is a healthy-start blend of high-quality protein, DHA and all the essential nutrients to lay the foundation for a healthy, active life.

  1. Made with farm-raised chicken
  2. 100% of the essential nutrients + DHA
  3. 27% protein for growing muscles
  4. Calcium for healthy bones and teeth
  5. Crafted in Canada since 1965

Ingredients

Whole Grain Corn, Corn Gluten Meal, Chicken By-Product Meal, Beef Fat Naturally Preserved with Mixed-Tocopherols, Soybean Meal, Barley, Egg and Chicken Flavour, Ground Rice, Chicken, Mono and Dicalcium Phosphate, Poultry and Pork Digest, Calcium Carbonate, Fish Oil, Salt, Potassium Chloride, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals [Zinc Sulphate, Ferrous Sulphate, Manganese Sulphate, Copper Sulphate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite], Vitamins [Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), Vitamin B-12 Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), Vitamin D-3 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B-2), Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (Vitamin K), Folic Acid (Vitamin B-9), Biotin (Vitamin B-7)], Yellow 6, Yellow 5, DL-Methionine, Red 40, Soybean Oil, Blue 2, Garlic Oil. B-4001-C.

AAFCO

Animal feeding tests using Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) procedures substantiate that Purina Puppy Chow For All Puppies provides complete and balanced nutrition for all life stages of dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (Min) 27.0%
Crude Fat (Min) 12.0%
Crude Fibre (Max) 5.0%
Moisture (Max) 12.0%
Linoleic Acid (Min) 1.6%
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) (Min) 0.05%
Calcium (Ca) (Min) 1.1%
Phosphorus (P) (Min) 0.9%
Iron (Fe) (Min) 150 mg/kg
Vitamin A (Min) 10,000 IU/kg

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.

Puppy Chow® Complete Puppy Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 252.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 50 puppies loved it We have 2 female labs and between the 2 they have had over 50 puppies. They loved it an grew healthy and strong with it. We also recommend it to the new owners. The price Is also great!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best in Puppy Fuel!!! I have had my Casey on this since we got her, and as an extremely active pup she thrives on Puppy Chow for the fuel she needs to be as active as she is!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My puppy loves it. I got my puppy and she came with this food however I wanted to give her something different but she refused to eat anything else but puppy chow.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 puppies , used Purina for all I wouldnt use anything but Purina , my dogs have always been happy and healthy
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great choice for puppies! I have been giving this to my puppy since she was able to eat dry food and she is almost turning one. It is a great brand of puppy food and she does not get bored of eating it and she enjoys it very much. As far as I can tell it has given her all of the nutrients she needs to be able to grow and she is very healthy. It was a great idea choosing this brand of food for her. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves his Puppy Chow ! November 12th we brought home a German shepherd cross puppy...he may have been 12 weeks old but was earring dry food already, so I asked my husband to pick up a bag of puppy food.He chose Puppy Chow and I'm so glad he did! Apollo loves it...thinks it's a treat and will do a couple small tricks for it! I found he liked it better when I prepared it a couple mins. in warm water....it seems to satisfy him even more! In the past 3 weeks he has almost doubled in size!!!
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features. Bag is easy to spot. I tried to add pics but it kept saying error but I have been buying Purina puppy chow for 8 yrs now. I have 2 litters a yr and go thru large amounts of puppy chow for pregnant moms and raising litters for 2 months. I also send a small baggy with each pup recomending they continue with Purina puppy chow with their new fur baby for 6-8 months. I love this brand of puppy food. It's Always well received by pups without issues. I also like the color of the bag. Very easy to spot in dog food isle.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy sized bites I purchase tis brand of puppy food for my mixed small breed dog. It has nice small bites that are easy for him to chew. It all seems to be broken down and digested well as my pup doesn't need to go #2 to many times in a day.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it!!! my puppy enjoys it and at a great price. she really likes it, we have tried other brands and she gets a digestive reaction to them so we were recommended to purina when she was 4 months old and haven't look back since 
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food I have been giving my puppy this food on the advice of the breeder. It is a great choice and she has done very well on it. i am almost ready to switch her to adult food and you know I will stick to the Purina brand.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best start for your growing puppy Only puppy chow is the one brand I recommend using to ensure a healthy , shiny coat and a happy puppy that will grow up to love you because you gave him or her the best start in life with Purina Puppy Chow !!!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing food for puppies! I purchased this product 2months ago and I will never go back to another product for my puppy. He loves it! He eats his whole bowl within five minutes. I highly recommend this product for puppy owners.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rescue Bichon 2 years old I just bought this for our little Pierre who was only fed human scraps. Took a while to find one he would eat. We have only had him for three weeks. He is terrified. Takes three feet forward then 10 back when he hears mens voices. Shakes so bad. LOVES this food. Thank you. We are feedong him by hand as he is so scared to put his head to a dish. He was never loved, picked up belly rubs until us. He loves hubby and I but scatters away..... With tail between his legs crouched down.........
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I started my puppy right on puppy chow because it is a product that I have been feeding all my pets. My dog Bandit loves his puppy chow and gobbles it down fast. It's the only kind I will use
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small size Over the years all our pups have grown up on Purina Puppy Chow. The smaller size bits are great for when they are just starting on food. I've never had a pup that didn't like it!
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves it! I bought a large bag a few weeks ago and my golden retriever loves it! He generally finishes eating it very quickly unlike other brands we tried. Thanks!
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for puppy Been using this brand of dog food since I got my dog when she was 8 weeks old. She seems to rly enjoy it. She is now 8 months old
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love it!!! Woof! Woof! My brother Sandy and I were just adopted now that we're nine weeks old. Our new family couldn't find Purina Alpo for puppies (we were eating that when we lived with our birth family). We just love this new one. It smells great and tastes even better. We would eat it all day long if we could. It gives us lots of energy and make us feel so good. Our new family thinks it's so cool that you have "Made in Canada" stamped right on front! Keep up the great work, Skippy
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky german shepherd I bought many kind of food for my dogs because they are picky.. I tried expensive food and my dogs still didn't like it. So I finally decide To cook for them. One day, I was shopping at Wal-Mart when i saw Puppy Chow. I told To myself that i should try it. The price was very good, ingredients too. It was the first time that my dogs really like the food, plus they asked me To have more. Since, i only buy puppy chow and my two beautiful german shepherd!
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mon chiot adore! Je nourris mon bébé chihuahua avec cette nourriture
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Parfait pour mon chiot, il adore cette nourriture J'ai eu mon chiot il avait 9 mois ! il mangeait déjà de la nourriture pour chien adulte car il est opéré. Malheureusement il avait de la difficulté à croquer dans l'autre nourriture morceaux beaucoup trop gros pour sa petite bouche ! j'ai changer pour purina dog chow, il mange super bien , son poil est très beau et mon petit chiot est beaucoup plus énergique. Je recommande donc cette nourriture pour tous les chiots !
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Callie says it's a winner! Our Callie is a mini Dachshund who we adopted at 8 weeks, she loves her puppy chow. We plan on keeping her on the puppy chow until she is a year or so old, as the old song says."Puppy Chow for a full year, until they're full grown!" :-) The name "Purina" invokes a certain amount of consumer confidence in the product, and while there are tons of other options out there, we feel safe with our Purina Puppy Chow!
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Nutrients I've been buying Purina Puppy Chow ever since I picked up my pup, she is almost 4 months now and just loves it. She is a bit of a picky eater I've tried other foods and she doesn't seem to want to eat them. I'm happy I chose a well balanced food while she is growing and in a few months I'll slowly switch her over to dog chow! Great products. My cats won't even eat any other brand of cat food.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Puppy Product I have fed Puppy Chow to my puppy since I brought him home at 8 weeks,he is now 51/2 months old. He just loves this product. He is growing very fast, 55lbs now, he has great looking fur,teeth and he got a top notch report from the vet. He only eats Puppy Chow, so all that is good with him has come from this product. Thank you for having a food that is in my opinion the best for my puppy.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tres satisfaite de la qualité et du prix J'ai suggérer a ma mère deux ans passé d'acheter les produits purina pour son chiot il est en super de bonne santé et maintenant il mange du purina dog chow. Moi je viens d'avoir un Gordon Setter, et je le nourri aussi sur le purina Puppy chow il a 4 mois et je vais le nourrir avec purina car je vois les résultat et mon chiot est actif et en bonne santé. Rapport qualité prix excellent.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Monster Loves It! I just started giving this food to my puppy Monster aka Monty and can already see the difference, his fur is shinier,he loves the taste, he just seems healthier and happier eating this food, My two adult dogs are making the switch to the dog chow, lets hope they love it just as much as much as my little Monster. So much better for my puppy then the so called "premium brands" :)
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Start for my Puppies My West Highland Terrier had 5 pups on Halloween 2018. At 3.5 weeks I started the weaning processes and started with Purina Puppy Chow Complete to make puppy gruel. The very first time all five pups ate all of their portions. No fuss. And they followed me around for more! I am so happy and apparently, so are they: Spirit, Montana, Chief, Jeronimo and Salem. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Pup LOVES it! Our little guy is 8 months old now, and he loves this puppy food. The first bag of food we brought home was a different brand & very expensive. He seemed to like it ok. BUT, then we brought home Puppy chow. Haven't brought home anything else since. He loves this brand. He's growing quickly (he's a large breed dog) and Puppy Chow gives him all the nutrients he needs.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppy loves it Just switched our puppy to this from a more expensive specialty brand. We didn’t switch because of price, we switched because we have to travel to another town to purchase it as it wasn’t available in our town. Puppy chow, however, was available and after reading the protein, Omega Fatty Acids and vitamin percentages, we went with puppy chow. And he seems to love it.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by our boy! Meet Trapper ! Our 7.5 week old rescue pup! Trapper was sadly living bf on a reserve under a tarp in frigid conditions .. he came to us at 5 w 3d.. he was pretty sick .. we tried feeding him recommendations by vet and he wouldn't eat .. luckily we bought this at local big box store and he LOVES it!! Thank you so much -- your newest fans -- The Bottineau Family
Date published: 2018-01-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_252
  • loc_en_CA, sid_1064, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-canada
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 167.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Instructions

PUPPY FEEDING INSTRUCTIONS
Amounts are recommended for an average puppy with normal activity. Remember food intake requirements vary depending on age, activity and environment, and should be adjusted accordingly.

FEEDING WEANING PUPS
Puppies start to nibble on solid foods at 3 to 4 weeks of age. Keep moistened Purina® Puppy Chow® (three parts kibble to one part water) available to puppies at all times until fully weaned (6 to 8 weeks of age).

FEEDING GROWING PUPS
After weaning, Purina® Puppy Chow® can be fed moistened or dry at the same time every day – very young puppies three times a day, older puppies twice a day. Use the feeding guidelines shown here, but remember individual needs can vary. Feed to maintain ideal body condition. Slight appetite changes and occasional digestive upsets are normal in puppies. If upsets become severe or linger longer than a day or two, contact your veterinarian.

WHEN FEEDING FOR REPRODUCTION
Purina® Puppy Chow® provides the extra nutrition needed by reproducing females in stages of gestation and lactation. Food consumption may vary during gestation, so feed the amount needed to maintain the pregnant female’s good body condition. Food intake may double or even quadruple during lactation.

MAKING THE SWITCH TO PURINA PUPPY CHOW
When switching to Purina® Puppy Chow® from another food, please allow 7 to 10 days for the transition. Gradually add more Purina® Puppy Chow® and less of the previous food to your pet’s dish each day until the changeover is complete. This gradual transition will help avoid dietary upsets.

WATER
Provide adequate fresh water in a clean container daily.

For your pet’s health, see your veterinarian regularly.
STORE IN A COOL, DRY PLACE.

Calorie Content (calculated)
3781 kcal/kg
443 kcal/cup

** Recommended daily feeding amounts, using a standard 250 ml / 8oz. measuring cup.